© 2023 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
KSOR Header background image 1
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

All Of Southern Oregon Among Counties Approved For Phase 2 Of Reopening

Closed sign.jpg
Erik Neumann / JPR

Oregon Gov. Kate Brown Thursday approved 26 counties to move to Phase 2 of her reopening plan as soon as Friday.

That means they can have indoor gatherings of up to 50 people and outdoor gatherings of 100 people.

Office workplaces can reopen with physical distancing guidelines, but working from home is still strongly encouraged. Sports can resume, and public pools and sports courts can reopen.

There are also a number of new guidelines for churches, theaters and other indoor and outdoor venues. And the restaurant and bar curfew has been moved up to midnight.

All but 10 counties are moving into phase two. They are mostly in the northern part of the state, except for Deschutes County.

The following counties are approved to enter Phase 2 on the following dates:

June 5: Benton, Curry, Douglas, Grant, Jackson, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Linn, Morrow, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Wheeler.

June 6: Baker, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Gilliam, Harney, Josephine, Malheur, Sherman, Yamhill.

June 8: Tillamook.

Deschutes, Jefferson and Umatilla counties applied for Phase 2, but state health officials are continuing to review their applications.

Six counties have not yet applied for Phase 2: Clackamas, Hood River, Lincoln, Marion, Polk and Washington.

Multnomah County has not yet applied for Phase 1, but is expected to submit an application Friday.

April Ehrlich is an editor and reporter at Oregon Public Broadcasting. Previously, she was a news host and reporter at Jefferson Public Radio.