© 2023 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Want to see how the races came out? Find stories about the results from the national, state and local elections around our region right here.We'll start posting articles as they become available, starting after 8 p.m. on Tuesday, so keep checking back !

Oregon Legislature: Incumbents Win, Wallan Takes Open Seat

Pam Marsh of Ashland won reelection; Kim Wallan led in Medford.

A couple of new faces will represent the region in the Oregon Legislature next year.  But only because the faces belong to people running for open seats.  Voters re-elected incumbents on the ballot in both houses.

The exceptions were Senate District Three (see separate story here), won by Jeff Golden, D-Ashland, and House District Six, won by Kim Wallan, R-Medford.

The house district gets a new legislator because of the retirement of longtime Representative Sal Esquivel, who chose not to run again.Elsewhere around the Oregon side:

  • Senate 1: Dallas Heard, R-Roseburg, won the seat he got by appointment after the resignation of Sen. Jeff Kruse.
  • Senate 4: Floyd Prozanski, D-Eugene, cruised to reelection.
  • Senate 6: Lee Beyer, D-Springfield, also won reelection easily.
  • House 1: David Brock Smith, R-Port Orford, won reelection.
  • House 2: Gary Leif, R-Roseburg, won election to the seat he was appointed to last spring, replacing Dallas Heard, who moved on to the Senate.
  • House 3: Carl Wilson, R-Grants Pass, won reelection easily.
  • House 4: Duane Stark, R-Grants Pass, did not even have an opponent on the ballot.
  • House 5: Pam Marsh, D-Ashland, won another term.
  • House 7: Cedric Hayden, R-Roseburg, won easily.
  • House 8: Paul Holvey, D-Eugene, won again.
  • House 9: Caddy McKeown, D-Coos Bay, won again.
  • House 55: Mike McLane, R-Powell Butte, the House Republican leader, won easily.
  • House 56: Werner Reschke, R-Klamath Falls, won another term.

Geoffrey Riley is a graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism and has hosted the Jefferson Exchange on JPR since 2009. He's been a broadcaster in the Rogue Valley for more than 35 years, working in both television and radio.