© 2023 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Want to see how the races came out? Find stories about the results from the national, state and local elections around our region right here.We'll start posting articles as they become available, starting after 8 p.m. on Tuesday, so keep checking back !

Josephine County: Fowler Wins Commissioner, Sheriff Stays Put

Darin Fowler, Commissioner-elect, and Sheriff Dave Daniel.

Grants Pass Mayor Darin Fowler is on his way to the Josephine County Board of Commissioners, winning Tuesday's election over Ron Smith.  Fowler will replace Simon Hare, who did not run again.

The November vote was a runoff after the May primary failed to produce a majority for any of the candidates in a crowded field.  Fowler piled up 53% of the voteto 46% for Smith.

Josephine County Sheriff Dave Daniel cruised to reelection, crushing challenger Jonathan Knapp, 71% to 28%.  County Clerk Rhiannon Henkels also won another term, beating former county commissioner Sandi Cassanelli by more than a two-to-one margin.

Geoffrey Riley is a graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism and has hosted the Jefferson Exchange on JPR since 2009. He's been a broadcaster in the Rogue Valley for more than 35 years, working in both television and radio.