© 2023 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Want to see how the races came out? Find stories about the results from the national, state and local elections around our region right here.We'll start posting articles as they become available, starting after 8 p.m. on Tuesday, so keep checking back !

Jackson County: Both Commissioners, Sheriff Reelected

Dyer and Roberts campaigns
Jackson County Commissioners Rick Dyer and Colleen Roberts.

Jackson County Commissioners Rick Dyer and Colleen Roberts, both Republicans, appeared to win second terms in office with Tuesday's election.  And incumbent Sheriff Nathan Sickler won election to the post he was appointed to in early 2017.

All faced spirited opposition.  Dyer drew Democrat Amy Thuren, a former Red Cross executive and current director of The Valley School in Medford.  Vote totals Tuesday night showed Dyer with 53% of the vote to Thuren's 44%.  Libertarian Frank Brannen pulled 3%.

Roberts, a first-termer like Dyer, faced off against Lanita Witt, a retired MD and the co-owner of Willow-Witt Ranch.  Roberts gathered more votes, 52% to 46% for Witt.  Libertarian Edward Stanton also ran and drew 2% support.Sheriff Sickler faced Bill Froehlich.  Sickler arrived in the sheriff's job by appointment in early 2017, when elected Sheriff Corey Falls resigned to take a job in the Portland area.  Sickler's numbers over Froehlich: 77% to 23%.

Jackson County voters also rejected a "Second Amendment Protection" measure, 56%-44%.

Geoffrey Riley is a graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism and has hosted the Jefferson Exchange on JPR since 2009. He's been a broadcaster in the Rogue Valley for more than 35 years, working in both television and radio.