Fines And Penalties Increase For Oregon's Distracted Drivers Starting July 1st
Penalties for distracted driving will get costlier in Oregon, starting next month. KLCC’s Brian Bull explains.
State law prohibits the use of portable electronic devices while operating a vehicle, which includes smart phones, tablets, music players, and even laptop computers.
Starting next month, a first-time offender faces a fine up to $1,000, and $2500 for a second offense or first-time offense leading to a crash.
Kelly Capri of the Oregon Department of Transportation says this is all to reinforce the message that drivers need to keep their hands on the wheel, and their focus on the road.
“From this time last year, there has been a 17.8% increase in fatalities," says Capri.
"The majority of those are roadway departure deaths, and the majority of those are from distracted driving.”
Repeat violators can get up to six months in jail and a $2500 fine for a third offense within a decade.
Exceptions include two-way radios for school bus drivers, and emergency response personnel on-duty.
Copyright 2018, KLCC.
Copyright 2018 KLCC