© 2023 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

JPR wins 2022 Regional Murrow Award for coverage of dry wells in Klamath Basin

Murrow judges selected JPR's coverage of failing wells in the parched Klamath Basin during a year of unprecedented drought.

Each year the Radio Television Digital News Association honors outstanding achievements in journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Awards are presented to news organizations whose work demonstrates the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast journalism.

The judges in Region 1 selected former Jefferson Public Radio reporter April Ehrlich's story as the winner of a 2022 Regional Murrow Award for “hard news” in the small market radio category. This is the 5th consecutive year JPR has earned an award in the "hard news" category.

“Ehrlich’s story captures the real-life struggles of communities impacted by environmental change and climate disruptions. This reporting is an example of powerful audio storytelling and compelling local journalism,” said JPR News Director Erik Neumann.

The RTDNA Region 1 includes Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.

2022 Murrow awards recognize work completed in 2021. Regional Murrow winners are automatically entered in the national Edward R. Murrow competition.

Listen to the story: Homes Lose Running Water In Klamath Basin As They Compete With Farmers, Ranchers

Erik Neumann is JPR's news director. He earned a master's degree from the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism and joined JPR as a reporter in 2019 after working at NPR member station KUER in Salt Lake City.