© 2023 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

JPR News Wins 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow, Associated Press Awards

Jefferson Public Radio's newsroom is among the winners of the 2016 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The Murrows are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) to recognize outstanding broadcast and online journalism. 

JPR was also recognized by the Associated Press Television and Radio Association (APTRA).

JPR took top honors for Best News Series in RTDNA's small market division among public and commercial radio stations in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. 

The Murrow award was for the four-part series Silent Epidemic: Addiction In Southern Oregon, in which JPR reporter Liam Moriarty explored what public health officials call an epidemic of addiction to heroin and prescription opioid pain relievers, through the eyes of people on the front lines.

The Associated Press award was chosen among submissions from small market public and commercial radio stations in the 13 western states, including California, Oregon and Washington. Liam Moriarty's To Shoot Or Not To Shoot won for Best Use of Sound in a Feature.

"These awards recognize the outstanding work of the JPR newsroom exploring the community issues that are central to citizens in Southern Oregon and Northern California," said JPR Executive Director Paul Westhelle. "They also celebrate the essential relationship that exists between JPR, Southern Oregon University and our listeners which makes our work possible."

Regional Murrow winners are automatically entered in the national Edward R. Murrow competition. National winners will be announced in June.