Oregon Legislature: Incumbents Win, Wallan Takes Open Seat

Nov 6, 2018

A couple of new faces will represent the region in the Oregon Legislature next year.  But only because the faces belong to people running for open seats.  Voters re-elected incumbents on the ballot in both houses.

The exceptions were Senate District Three (see separate story here), won by Jeff Golden, D-Ashland, and House District Six, won by Kim Wallan, R-Medford.

The house district gets a new legislator because of the retirement of longtime Representative Sal Esquivel, who chose not to run again.

Elsewhere around the Oregon side:

  • Senate 1: Dallas Heard, R-Roseburg, won the seat he got by appointment after the resignation of Sen. Jeff Kruse.
  • Senate 4: Floyd Prozanski, D-Eugene, cruised to reelection.
  • Senate 6: Lee Beyer, D-Springfield, also won reelection easily.
  • House 1: David Brock Smith, R-Port Orford, won reelection.
  • House 2: Gary Leif, R-Roseburg, won election to the seat he was appointed to last spring, replacing Dallas Heard, who moved on to the Senate.
  • House 3: Carl Wilson, R-Grants Pass, won reelection easily.
  • House 4: Duane Stark, R-Grants Pass, did not even have an opponent on the ballot.
  • House 5: Pam Marsh, D-Ashland, won another term.
  • House 7: Cedric Hayden, R-Roseburg, won easily.
  • House 8: Paul Holvey, D-Eugene, won again.
  • House 9: Caddy McKeown, D-Coos Bay, won again.
  • House 55: Mike McLane, R-Powell Butte, the House Republican leader, won easily.
  • House 56: Werner Reschke, R-Klamath Falls, won another term.