Britt Announces 2018 Classical Festival

Jan 9, 2018

Britt Music & Arts Festival and Britt Orchestra Music Director Teddy Abrams announce the 2018 Britt Orchestra Season, which will run from July 25th through August 11th. The 2018 program draws inspiration from the Bernstein Centennial, a world-wide celebration of the 100th birthday of Leonard Bernstein, the composer, conductor, educator, musician, cultural ambassador, and humanitarian.

Teddy Abrams and the Britt Orchestra will present music written, championed, and influenced by Bernstein, including Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring, Ottorino Respighi’s Pines of Rome, Richard Strauss’s Also Sprach Zarathustra, Brahms’ Fourth Symphony, and Gustav Mahler’s Sixth Symphony. The 2018 Season also brings several world-class soloists to Britt, including the popular double bassist Edgar Meyer, pianist Jonathan Biss, violinist Anthony Marwood, and vocalists Measha Brueggergosman and Sasha Cooke.

Continuing Britt’s commitment to presenting music from today’s musical voices, the Britt Orchestra will perform works by living composers such as Anna Clyne, Christopher Cerrone, bassist/composer Edgar Meyer, and a new commissioned work by Gabriel Kahane that will focus on issues of housing and homelessness.

The concert schedule for the 2018 Britt Orchestra season is:

Wednesday, July 25 – 7:30 p.m.
Classics in the Movies An exploration of popular classical music themes from the movies & TV, featuring works by Wagner, Mozart, Rossini, Williams and many more.

Friday, July 27 – 7:30 p.m.
Maurice Ravel: La Valse | Gabriel Kahane: (commissioned work, no title yet) - Measha Brueggergosman, soprano | Anna Clyne: Abstractions | Ottorino Respighi: Pines of Rome

Saturday, July 28 – 7:30 p.m.
Leonard Bernstein: Symphony No. 1 “Jeremiah” - Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano | Mason Bates: Passage - Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano | Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E minor

Friday, August 3 – 7:30 p.m.
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Egmont Overture | Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major - Jonathan Biss, piano | Christopher Cerrone: Will There Be Singing |Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 in E-flat Major

Saturday, August 4 – 7:30 p.m.
Edgar Meyer: New Piece for Orchestra | Edgar Meyer: Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra in E • Edgar Meyer, double bass | Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring: Suite

Friday, August 10 – 7:30 p.m.
Leonard Bernstein: Candide: Overture | Leonard Bernstein: Serenade (After Plato's "Symposium") - Anthony Marwood, violin | Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra

Saturday, August 11 – 7:30 p.m.
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor