© 2022 | Jefferson Public Radio
Southern Oregon University
1250 Siskiyou Blvd.
Ashland, OR 97520
541.552.6301 | 800.782.6191
KSOR Header background image 1
a service of Southern Oregon University
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Health and Medicine

Jackson, 8 Other Counties, Begin COVID-19 'Pause'

Colorized scanning electron micrograph of a cell (green) heavily infected with SARS-COV-2 virus particles (orange), isolated from a patient sample.

Nine counties in Oregon, including Jackson County, begin a state-directed “two week pause” starting Wednesday. The increased temporary restrictions are meant to slow the rapid spread of COVID-19.

The goal of the “pause” is to reduce human contact in counties where COVID-19 is spreading quickly. It includes counties from Malheur to Umatilla and Clackamas to Jackson.

In recent weeks, Jackson County has rapidly set successive records for daily new coronavirus cases, while Oregon as a whole has reported daily case counts approaching 1,000.

The Governor’s office is urging people to work from home whenever possible, pausing indoor visits to long-term care facilities, and reducing restaurant capacity to 50 people indoors and encouraging take-out instead.

Most of all, they’re encouraging Oregonians to limit the frequency and size of social gatherings, and cap them at six people. Social gatherings are one of the main drivers of increasing infections.

The “pause” goes for two weeks, until November 25th, the day before Thanksgiving.